Home Close cottages belonged to the Rushden Hall Estate.
A new Scout Headquarters was built behind the site. The Scouts used the ground as an area to form-up before church parades or carnival and to practise marching.
The area now covered by Orbit Tyres was used as a bus park by United Counties, before they built a new depot in Newton Road.
The Rushden Echo and Argus, 18th November, 1949
Skinner’s Hill, Rushden has changed considerable since it presented this largely rural view, and the present parking place for buses is decidedly less picturesque than were the cottages where Samuel Knight was the principal character. Some features remain, howeverthe trees bordering Rushden Hall, the Claridge factory (right) and the building on the extreme left.