Click here to return to the main site entry page
Click here to return to the previous page
Article by Paul Wright, 2021
District Councils 2021

In the early part of 2021, Local government in Northamptonshire was facing its biggest change in well over 40 years. The unthinkable happened, and Northamptonshire County Council went bankrupt, that was back in 2018, after years of financial mismanagement that resulted in debts of around £1billion. They had been based in the centre of Northampton at One Angel Square. 

And it was decided to set up two new councils, they would be North Northamptonshire Council, and West Northamptonshire Council. 

The eight existing councils of Wellingborough, Corby, Daventry, East Northants, Kettering, Northampton, Northamptonshire County and South Northants – have been replaced with two brand new unitary councils from 1st April 2021.

East Northamptonshire Council used to be an amalgamation of Higham Ferrers Borough, Irthlingborough Urban District, Oundle and Thrapston Rural District, Oundle Urban District, Raunds Urban District, Rushden Urban District, in 1965 a small area at Bedford Road (formerly in the Parish of Wymington) was transferred to form part of the Urban District. The council came into being on 1 April 1974.

So after forty seven years, East Northamptonshire Council (ENC) met for the final time over at Thrapston on Monday, 22 March before ENC ceased to exist on 31 March and was replaced by the new North Northamptonshire Council. 

Members of ENC had been given the chance to share their memories and thoughts and a video was played to celebrate ENC’s four decade history. 

North Northamptonshire Council (NNC), covering the geographical areas previously overseen by ENC; Corby Borough Council, Kettering Borough Council, Borough Council of Wellingborough and some of the services which were managed by Northamptonshire County Council, came into existence on 1st April, 2021

During the weeks prior to the new councils coming on stream, a media display vehicle had been touring various parts of our towns and villages to proclaim the contact details.

The telephone number for North Northamptonshire Council is 0300 126 3000. You can visit North Northamptonshire Council, Cedar Drive, Thrapston, Northamptonshire, NN14 4LZ. Opening hours:- Monday to Friday - 9am - 5pm. 

Obviously the West Northamptonshire Council is concentrating on Northampton etc, and is based at One Angel Square, Angel Street, Northampton NN1 1ED, and at Lodge Road, Daventry, NN11 4FP. They can be called on 0300 126 7000.

Click here to return to the main index of features
Click here to return to the History index
Click here to e-mail us